Reading Habits Tag

I’ve seen this tag on twitter and on booktube and thought it looked like a fun tag. I was hoping someone would tag me, and I’d like to thank Shaun for tagging me. Check out Shaun’s blog here to see his answers to the questions, and his fantastic blog!

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Usually I sit on the couch and snuggle up under my blanket. Or, if Stewart’s playing Grand Theft Auto on his xbox, I might go upstairs and curl up in bed. Sometimes guns, and sirens doesn’t fit in with the book I’m reading! I just like anywhere that is cosy and comfy so that I can pour myself into another world.

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Usually a bookmark, I love them – I have one that my mum kept for me from when I was 6 years old. Which is my favourite!

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter or certain number of pages?

I really prefer to get to the end of a chapter before I stop, usually so that I can pick it back up easily, but often I fall asleep with the book on my pillow mid-chapter so It can be unavoidable.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

I will probably put my book down if I’m eating, because I don’t want to put crumbs in the pages, or stain my book. I’d be devastated if I dropped anything on my favourite book. If I’m reading from my kindle, I’ll obviously avoid dropping anything liquid on it, but I might not be as cautious eating around it.

Do you watch TV or listen to music while reading?

Usually I don’t because I’m easily distracted, and I’d probably sing-a-long or I’ll keep glancing at the TV. I can stomach some noise but not too much, and it depends on what I’m reading. I’m on the hunt for some great ear plugs!

One book at a time or several at once?

Usually, at the moment, one book at a time but I’m thinking of trying to read more at once. I think if I make sure I’m reading completely different books I won’t get them confused.

Reading at home or everywhere?

I do a massive percentage of my reading at home, but I will read everywhere – on my commute to work, at work etc.

Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Always silently in my head, I find I read a lot quicker in my head. I suck at reading out loud, always have. I suppose if I’ve read a sentence in my head and it doesn’t make sense, I may read it outloud to try and make sense of it.

Do you ever read ahead or skip pages?

I usually don’t skip ahead, but if a book isn’t sitting right with me and I’m thinking of putting it down, I might have a peek to see if anything exciting happens, or I might skim read/just read dialogue.

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I never break spines! I hate broken spines, I try always to keep my books looking new.

Do you write in your books?

Never – when I want to make notes on a book, I have a specific notebook to write in them. I figure that’s what notebooks are for!

If you’d like to do this tag, I officially tag you!

I specifically tag:

@emmaiswriting

@abbeylouise20

@creativepixie

@bethtinkerbell

@Onlybecciblog

Leave a Reply

