Allegiant by Veronica Roth

allegiant

Allegiant
by Veronica Roth
Published: Harper Collins
Publisher: 22nd October 2013

Blurb

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice and love.

Review
Allegiant is the third and final instalment in the Divergent trilogy, and I will try to write this review as if it is a stand-alone book. That way I can avoid spoilers from this book, and the first two books in the trilogies.
If you’d like to read my reviews for the others, click here: Divergent and Insurgent

After the end of Insurgent, I hopped off the couch and immediately grabbed Allegiant. The cliff hanger in the previous book was that intriguing I had to find out what happened next, and I was eager to find out to my beloved characters. I was thrilled to see that this book began right in the middle of the action. Again, the author doesn’t dwell too long on the last book and we pick up right where we left off.

Unfortunately, the fast paced action drizzled out and the plot was a little stale until just before the end. Honestly, the middle section of the book really disappointed me. It read as if it was just filler until the big finale, and I wasn’t interested in where the book was leading. If this wasn’t the finale of a trilogy I’d loved, I probably would have put this book down.

I continued reading out of loyalty and found that the pace improved. It became the page turner I was hoping for. I was finally addicted like I was with the other books, and I liked the ended despite it being shocking and quite sad at times. I understand why people disliked the ending, but I think I’d predicted the ending a few chapters before so prepared myself for it.

Sadly, it felt like the majority of Allegiant didn’t belong with the other instalments. It read like a completely separate story instead of a continuation. My favourite part of the book was the epilogue, as it took me back to what I loved about the first books in the trilogy.
The structure was very different in this final book, every other chapter is from either Tris’ or Four’s point of view. It took me a second or so to realise that it’d switched character because honestly, the character’s inner monologues aren’t easy to differentiate. I was really surprised that the author decided to switch between the characters, but it ended up enjoying it. I liked being able to see the world from another characters point of view, and to watch the plot unravel around them – especially as they’re not constantly around each other.

If you have the read the first books in the Divergent trilogy, then I’d urge you to read this one. I know there are mixed reviews, so it’ll be interesting to hear your opinions on it.
Although I was disappointed with this book, the overall trilogy is excellent.

If you’d like to grab yourself a copy: Amazon link

One thought on “Allegiant by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Book Sacrifice Tag | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

