Divergent by Veronica Roth

Divergent

Divergent
by Veronica Roth
Published: 25th April 2011
Publisher: Harper Collins

Blurb
Sixteen-year-old Tris is forced to make a terrible choice. In a divided society where everyone must conform, Tris does not fit.
So she ventures out alone, determined to discover where she truly belongs. Shocked by her brutal new life, Tris can trust no one. And yet she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her.
The hardest choice lies ahead.

Review
I bought this book after I saw a review online, and also because I saw the posters for the adaptation appear in cinemas. We all know I love a good adaptation, and I wanted to read this one before the film was released.

I feel like I want to explain a little about this society so that you have an idea of what the premise of the dystopian world is. I will not discuss the plot, or give spoilers but I feel like a small summary about the society is appropriate for the review.

If you don’t wish to read the summary of the society then I shall highlight where I carry on with the review.

This society is set in a post-apocalyptic world, which is divided into five factions. The factions are made up of ideals to prevent further decline of mankind, based on what they thought caused the downfall. For example, if they thought that selfishness was the problem, the faction would focus on being selfless.
The five factions are: Abnegation – the selfless, Amity – the peaceful, Candor – the honest, Erudite – the knowledgeable, Dauntless – the brave.
In this society, once you are 16 years old, you have the opportunity to transfer into a different faction, but once you’re there your faction is your new family. Faction before blood.

The review continues from here.

I thought the author explains this society really well. The factions are described well, and I felt like I was immediately transported to this society. I thought the author did a great job of explaining this society, I understood it immediately and it made sense.
I was hooked straight away. I loved the sound of this strange society from the beginning and the plot was action packed from the start. Before I knew it I was 15 chapters in and didn’t want to put the book down. The plot progressed at a fast pace, and each chapter leaves you wanting to immediately read the next. I tried at one point to force myself to put the book down so I could savour this world, but I couldn’t. I stayed up late last night to finish it, and now I miss it! Thank goodness for the sequel and the film!

I loved the characters, I felt they were complex and stood out. I liked the main character, Tris, and her inner conflicts. I felt her voice was strong, and I liked the way she thought. She was my favourite character in the book. She’s feisty and independent, and strong minded. I enjoyed her interacting with the other people in her faction, and especially her interactions with Four. I liked that the addition of a love story wasn’t overwhelming, and it isn’t the main focus of the plot.
I’m looking forward to seeing how the characters progress in the rest of this trilogy. I thought Tris’ personality and character progressed a lot in this book so it’ll be interesting to see where the author takes her.

I enjoyed the plot, and learning more about the factions and the initiations into them. I felt I was on the journey with the characters and became attached to the characters. I loved how the story ended, and it leads nicely into the sequel – which I am dying to read! I’m kicking myself that I didn’t pick it up sooner. I loved this book!! Even though this is a novel for young adults, I would recommend this to anyone. I think my mum would enjoy this, and my boyfriend would too.

If you like The Hunger Games or just fancy becoming hooked in another world – this book is for you. Cannot recommend this book enough!

Also, if you’ve read the book or if you read the summary: which faction do you think you’d be in?

If you’d like to get yourself a copy: Amazon link

3 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson|

Leave a Reply

