Looking For Alaska by John Green

lookingforalaska

Looking For Alaska

by John Green

Published: 28th March 2005

Publisher: Harper Collins

Blurb

“If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was a hurricane.”

Miles Halter’s whole life has been one big non-event, until he meets Alaska Young.

Gorgeous, clever and undoubtedly screwed up. Alaska draws Miles into her reckless world and irrevocably steals his heart. For Miles, nothin can ever be the same again.

Review

I hadn’t read any of this author’s books previous to reading this one, and I hadn’t really heard anything about this book. I’ve seen reviews for another one of Green’s novels – The Fault In Our Stars, (which is in my TBR pile). My friend, Samantha, had recommended this book to me when we were in Waterstones a few weeks ago. She said this was her favourite of his novels, so I thought I’d give this one a go. When choosing which book I wanted to read next my lovely friend, Abbey from Miss Bookwork Reviews said we should be book buddies and read this one together. I will add the link to her review if she posts one.

I had started the book without any knowledge of basic plot or the author’s writing style, I only had the blurb to work from. Without being personally recommended this book, I don’t know if I’d have picked it up, the blurb does make the book sound interesting but it doesn’t give much away. It is a Young Adult book, and I have always thought that you should always read what appeals to you, and I have no problem reading book that are marketed towards a younger audience. Please don’t let that put you off grabbing a copy, and trying it out. At times I did think it was a little young for me, but that went quickly when I became enveloped in the characters and the plot.

I thought each character description was excellent, I felt I could see them. Alaska Young was described beautifully and I felt like I already knew her, and had be friends with her for years. The dynamic between Miles and his friends is brilliant, believable. I really loved their quirky things, such as memorising countries and knowing famous last words. But what I enjoyed the most about this book was the dialogue, I absolutely love witty, and real dialogue. I think it’s the most important thing for the characters to come to life. They did, and I felt like I was with them, pulling pranks and trying to avoid getting caught doing things I shouldn’t. It made me feel younger and I became nostalgic about my time at high school, and being that age.

At first I wasn’t sure I was going to get into the book, but I did, and only put the book down to work or because I passed out. One thing I enjoyed was that the book is split into two halves: before, and after. Each ‘chapter’ was separated by ‘one hundred days before’. I enjoyed not knowing what it was leading to, and I was really shocked when I learnt what it was. It’s really well written, and I felt like I was driven through each section.

It took a lot from this book. To cherish the moments that are funny, and to forgive but I’ll leave that with you to read why. Also, you must read purely for the ending: the prank, I can’t add to that but you’ll be laughing, a lot. The book is hilarious at times, and yet incredibly sombre too. I enjoyed this book a lot, and can’t wait to read more from this author.  I loved it and I’m thankful for the recommendation.

Grab yourself a copy, and make sure you don’t have anything important to do because you won’t be able to do anything until you’ve finished it!    

If you’d like to get yourself a copy: Amazon link

4 thoughts on “Looking For Alaska by John Green

  1. I’ve wanted to read this for AGES! It sounds amazing, great review 😀 I love John Green – I’ve read TFiOS and Paper Towns and I agree when you say about the characters quirky habits… I’ve noticed this in both the books I’ve read and I love it! I hope this one encourages you to pick up more of John’s books 😀 xxx

    Like

  2. Pingback: March Book Haul | IntoTheBookCase |Katie Thompson

Leave a Reply

