Welcome!

I wasn’t sure what my first post should be on this blog, so I thought I’d ease my way into the water. I thought I’d begin by telling you the book that I am currently reading, and the books I’ve recently purchased. Then you may have an idea of what you’ll see coming up here and what kind of books I like to read.

Currently reading:

IMG_1323

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

Really enjoying this book so far. I’m about half way through. Won’t go into too much detail here, as I will post a more indepth review.

Recently purchased:

IMG_1331

The Red Queen by Phillipa Greggory

I decided to pick up this book as I found the concept really interesting. The author takes an era in history and weaves a fictional narrative through the facts. I cannot wait to see how the author has done this.

The White Queen by Phillipa Greggory

This novel is written in parralel to the previous mention, The Red Queen. I’m interested to see how the author has achieved this and which side I would pledge my alligience. I’m excited to see if the author can make me empathise with each side, and create a feeling of being torn between the two families.

The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberger

I chose this book as I have seen the adaptation, and was interested in reading the book. Then, of course, I can re-watch the adaptation and see what they have done to enunciate the book from text to screen.

Revenge Wears Prada: The Devil Returns by Lauren Weisberger

I purchased the sequel to The Devil Wears Prada as I’m a sucker for a sequel, I love to find out how stories and characters progress.

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I picked this book as I do quite enjoy a good dystopian fantasy. I really enjoyed The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and I feel like this book may grab pull me in, in the same way that trilogy did. It’s also been adapted, as many of this list has been, and I’d like to see the film version.

The Five People You Meet In Heaven by Mitch Albom

I heard about this book in an online review, and I immediately had to buy the book. I think this book will stay with me once I’ve turned the last page. The blurb alone is very thought provoking and I’m looking forward to discussing this book.

One Day by David Nichols

Again, I have seen the film adaptation of this book and I loved it. I heard the book was just as beautiful, and I’d never gotten round to picking it up. I saw it in a bookshop the other day (or, one day…)  and snatched it up. I love the concept of this book: each chapter in the book covers the lives of two people, on the same day, for twenty years.

Hopefully reviews of each of these book will appear here.

If anyone has any book recommedations, please let me know! I’m also looking for more blogs to follow, so if you also have a blog, tweet me the address and I can have a look.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/intothebookcase

Speak soon! Katie xxx

One thought on “Welcome!

Leave a Reply

